96 Percent Voter Turnout In State For Congress President Election

Mumbai, 18th October 2022: Voting for the post of the All India Congress Committee President was held in Mumbai on Monday at Tilak Bhavan and Rajiv Gandhi Bhavan in an atmosphere of great enthusiasm. 96 percent of the representatives of the Pradesh Congress and 97 percent of the Mumbai Congress voted. All the prominent leaders of the state were present on this occasion.




In the election, 542 out of 561 representatives of the state Congress, i.e. 96 percent of the voters, exercised their right to vote. It also includes postal voting. Polling was conducted under the supervision of the Election Returning Officer and former Union Minister Pallam Raju, Assistant Election Returning Officer Dinesh Kumar, Narendra Rawat, and MLA Krishna Punia. Out of 237 representatives of the Mumbai Congress, 229 voted in the election for the post of Congress President, and a total voter turnout of 97 percent was reported.




Mumbai Congress president Bhai Jagtap, former minister for many years Gaikwad, other leaders and office bearers voted. Former MP and former president of Mumbai Congress Sanjay Nirupam voted in a booth in Punjab. Congress leaders Janet D’Souza and Sachin Rao, who participated in the Bharat Jodo Yatra, were informed that they voted in Karnataka.