Amateurs Shine as Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour Takes Center Stage in Mumbai

Mumbai, 15th January 2024: The Bombay Presidency Golf Club welcomes a stellar lineup of golfing talents as the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour’s second leg commences. The spotlight is on Amateur Nishna, who, riding high on her recent victory, aims for a repeat performance on familiar terrain.

Nishna’s impressive finish in the first leg, defeating Sneha Singh and Hitaashee Bakshi, has infused her with confidence as she faces the challenges of the Bombay Presidency Golf Club. The course, well-known to her, sets the stage for an exciting week of competition.

The competition includes seasoned players like Vani Kapoor, evaluating her form ahead of upcoming events on the Sunshine Tour in South Africa, where she will be accompanied by Amandeep Drall and other golfing luminaries. Amandeep is also part of the lineup this week.

Players like Neha Tripathi, Seher Atwal, and Ridhima Dilawari are eager to find their rhythm early in the season before venturing onto the international Tours in the coming months. While Vani and Ridhima opted out of last week’s tournament, Seher Atwal secured a commendable tied-fourth position, Amandeep secured sixth place, and Neha finished just outside the top ten.

Sneha Singh, the Hero Order of Merit winner in 2023, and Hitaashee Bakshi continue to be formidable contenders this week. Beyond the seasoned professionals and amateurs, a cohort of promising young stars aims to make a significant impact on the leaderboard.

The field boasts 33 professionals and 6 amateurs, competing for a purse of Rs 12 lakhs. Among the four amateurs, National champion Vidhatri Urs and Mannat Brar are set to participate in the Women’s Amateur Asia-Pacific next month, making this tournament a crucial tune-up for them. Last week, Nishna emerged victorious, while Mannat secured a tied-fourth position, underlining the increasing influence of amateurs on the professional Tour.

The tee times for Round 1 of the second leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour at BPGC, Mumbai, are as follows:

1. 8:00 am: Gauri Karhade; Sneha Singh; Hitaashee Bakshi;
2. 8:10 am: Shweta Mansingh; Rhea Purvi Saravanan; Karishma Govind;
3. 8:20 am: Shagun Narain; Anisha Agarwalla; Rhea Jha;
4. 8:30 am: Ravjot K Dosanjh; Agrima Manral; Ananya Datar;
5. 8:40 am: Amandeep Drall; Ananya Garg; Ishvari Prasanna;
6. 8:55 am: Jahaanvie Walia; Jyotsana Singh; Neha Tripathi;
7. 9:05 am: Khushi Khanijau; Bhuvika Bhise (A); Vidhatri Urs (A);
8. 9:15 am: Aradhana Manikandan (A); Ridhima Dilawari; Yaalisai Verma;
9. 9:25 am: Mannat Brar (A); Vani Kapoor; Mehar Atwal;
10. 9:40 am: Taniya Balasuriya; Nishna Patel (A); Snigdha Goswami;
11. 9:50 am: Anuradha Chaudhuri (A); Disha Kavery; Seher Atwal;
12. 10:00 am: Sachika Singh; Riya Yadav; Anaggha Venkatesh;
13. 10:10 am: Oviya Reddi; Khushi; Jasmine Shekar.