Pune: Ashwini, Samiksha help Krida Prabodhini to gold in Junior Judo Championship

Pune, 23rd April 2022: Aditya Dhopavkar, Pradip Gaikwad, Ashwini Solanke and Samiksha Shelar came out on tops and bagged gold in their respective categories in the MLA Cup 48th State Junior (Boys and Girls) Championship 2022, conducted under the aegis of Maharashtra Judo Association, at Kesariwada, Tilak Road, on Friday.

Krida Prabodhini judokas Ashwini Solanke and Samiksha Shelar won their respective title-bouts to give the Balewadi-based sports academy a golden start in the championship.

In the Under 57 kgs girls final, Ashwini put aside the challenge of Kumudini Sawant (Kolhapur) to emerge on top, while in the under 70 kgs final, Samiksha got past Thane’s Pratiksha Borkar.

Ahmednagar, Solapur, Kolhapur, and Nashik also had their day out winning a gold each.

Aditya Dhopavkar (Ahmednagar) squashed the hopes of local lad Balaji S (Pune District Judo Association) in the Under 81 kgs boys’ category.

Later, Pradip Gaikwad (Solapur) claimed the Under-90 kgs title. In the face off he beat Akash Ghodke (Ahmednagar).

The boys’ 100 kg weight title was won by Aditya Patil (Kolhapur) who pushed aside the challenge of Hiten Butola (Thane). Prasad Nimbalkar (Osmanabad) settled for the bronze medal.

Divya Kardel added Nashik to the list of gold medallists of the day by winning the Under 78 kgs girls final by getting the better of Sayali Vijesh (Thane). Sumedha Pathare (Aurangabad) claimed the bronze.

Earlier, on the opening day, Thane lass Shaina Deshpande became the first gold medallist. In the title-clash of the Under 52 kgs girls’ category, Shaina got the better of Diksha Khare of Gondia by an Ippon to bag the top spot.


Boys; Under 81 kgs, Final:  Aditya Dhopavkar (Ahmednagar) bt Balaji S. (Pune District Judo Association)

Under 90 kgs, Final: Pradip Gaikwad (Solapur) bt Akash Ghodke (Ahmednagar)

Under 100 kgs, Final: Aditya Patil (Kolhapur) bt Hiten Butola (Thane). Bronze: Prasad Nimbalkar (Osmanabad)

Girls; Under 78 kgs, Final: Divya Kardel (Nashik) bt Sayali Vijesh (Thane). Bronze: Sumedha Pathare  (Aurangabad)

Above 78 kgs, Final: Shambhavi Kadam (Mumbai) bt Apoorva Patil (Thane).

Bronze: Sanika Gaikwad (Kolhapur)

Under 57 kgs, Final: Ashwini Solanke (Krida Prabodhini, Balewadi) bt Kumudini Sawant (Kolhapur)

Under 70 kgs, Final: Samiksha Shelar (Krida Prabodhini, Balewadi) bt Pratiksha Borkar (Thane).

Under 52 kgs, Final: Shaina Deshpande (Thane) bt Diksha Khare (Gondia).