Strikers FC set up title clash with DFA Mumbai

27 May, Nigdi: Strikers FC stunned CMS Falcons A 1-0 in a feisty encounter to enter the final of the CMS Champions Cup 2023 11-a-side football tournament being held at the Madan Lal Dhingra stadium in Nigdi late on Friday. Forward Subodh Lama was fouled inside the penalty area by Falcons goalkeeper Priyatosh Chaturvedi and he made no mistake in converting the second half spot kick. The majority of the match was played with a player less on both sides as Aman Sen of CMS Falcons A and George Pillai of Strikers were given red cards in the first half.

In the other semifinal, DFA Mumbai scored twice in the first half through Shahid Shaikh and Asad Sayyed to ease past CMS Falcons B.

Results (Semi-finals): DFA Mumbai 2 (Shahid Shaikh 11′, Asad Sayyed 17′) beat CMS Falcons B 0;

Strikers FC 1 (Subodh Lama penalty 42′) beat CMS Falcons A 0.

40+ Age Category: Pune Veterans 2 (Sanjay V 10′, 15′) beat Pune Masters 0;

Akatsuki 4 (Vivek Rokade 6′, Mateen Shaikh 10′, Vinay Varghese 46′, Jason Vaz 48′) beat Hoyas 0.