Traffic Diversions in Mumbai Ahead of PM Modi’s Roadshow for Lok Sabha Elections

Mumbai, 14th May 2024: Ahead of Prime Minister Modi’s scheduled roadshow in Mumbai for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Mumbai Police issued traffic diversions in certain areas of the city. In a notification, the police informed the public about the roadshow planned on May 15, 2024, along L.B.S Road in the Ghatkopar Traffic Police Division’s jurisdiction.

Due to the expected large turnout for the roadshow on L.B.S. Road traffic movements in the surrounding areas will be affected. Consequently, the following traffic arrangements have been implemented:

1. Road Closures:
– L.B.S. Road from Gandhi Nagar Junction to Naupada Junction and Mahul-Ghatkopar Road from Meghraj Junction to R.B. Kadam Junction will be closed for vehicular traffic in both directions from 14:00 to 22:00 hrs.

2. Temporary Closures:
– Closure of vehicular traffic on Andheri – Ghatkopar Link Road from Ghatkopar Junction to Sakinaka Junction.
– Closure of vehicular traffic towards Gulati petrol pump junction from Hiranandani Kailash.
– Closure of vehicular traffic from Golibar Maidan and Ghatkopar Metro Station (W) towards Sarvodaya Junction.

3. Alternate Routes:
– Eastern Express Highway
– Western Express Highway
– Andheri-Kurla Road
– Saki Vihar Road
– MIDC Central Road
– Santacruz Chembur Link Road (SCLR)
– Sion- Bandra Link Road
– Jogeshwari Vikhroli Link Road (JVLR)

Mumbai Police urged citizens and motorists to plan their journeys accordingly and utilize alternate routes to reach their destinations. They expressed regret for any inconvenience caused by these traffic arrangements.

Meanwhile, sources indicate that Prime Minister Narendra Modi is scheduled to address two rallies and conduct a roadshow in Mumbai on May 15 and 17, respectively, as the Lok Sabha election dates approach. Mumbai will cast its votes in the fifth and final phase of the Lok Sabha polls on May 20, 2024, covering 13 constituencies, including Mumbai North, Mumbai North West, Mumbai North East, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai South, Washim, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Washim, and Thane.